Beppu · City-run public bathhouse

Hotta Onsen

堀田温泉

Steam rising from a blue hot-spring pond in Beppu
Area photo

This photo shows the area, not this facility.

TattoosNot statedThe official site doesn't say. That isn't a no — ask before you go.Day visitYesAs stated on the official site.Private bathNot statedThe official site doesn't say. That isn't a no — ask before you go.

House rules

Can I get in with tattoos?

Not stated on the official site

The official site doesn't say either way. That isn't the same as "no" — it's worth asking the facility before you go.

Can I visit just for the bath?Day visits, without staying overnight

Day visitors can bathe

Price
  • Adults (junior high and up) (大人(中学生以上)): ¥300
  • Children (小人): ¥100
  • Under elementary school age (小学生未満): Free
Hours
6:30 am – 10:30 pm (no entry or bathing 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm for cleaning)
Closed
First Wednesday of the month; if Wednesday is a holiday, closed the following day instead (第1水曜日(祝日の場合は翌日))
入浴料金 / 大人(中学生以上) / 300円 / 小人 / 100円(小学生未満は無料)

Bath entry fee: adults (junior high and up) 300 yen; children 100 yen (under elementary school age free).

Source: https://www.city.beppu.oita.jp/sisetu/shieionsen/detail16.html · Checked 2026-10-29
営業時間 / 6:30~22:30 / ※14:00~15:00までの1時間は清掃時間のため、入館・入浴はできません。

Open 6:30 am – 10:30 pm. The hour from 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm is cleaning time, so entry and bathing are not possible.

Source: https://www.city.beppu.oita.jp/sisetu/shieionsen/detail16.html · Checked 2026-10-29
休館日 / 第1水曜日(祝日の場合は翌日)

Closed on the first Wednesday of the month; if it is a holiday, closed the following day.

Source: https://www.city.beppu.oita.jp/sisetu/shieionsen/detail16.html · Checked 2026-10-29

Is there a private bath?Private baths (kashikiri / family baths)

Not stated on the official site

The official site doesn't say either way. That isn't the same as "no" — it's worth asking the facility before you go.

Official site: https://www.city.beppu.oita.jp/sisetu/shieionsen/detail16.html · Checked 2026-10-29 · English name is our romanization

Checked
Oct 29, 2026